Introductory Post

Hi! I’m Rebecca Soverinsky, and I’m a junior studying Communications and minoring in Writing at the University of Michigan. My major and my minor are far from random, as I’ve been a lover of media far before I entered the University.  Growing up, I was obsessed with the Today Show, which was where I got a lot of my news. I wasn’t obsessed with the Today Show because of the stories that were told, but rather I thought Meredith Vieira was the most amazing person to ever grace my television screen, and that’s why I watched. As noted in Post Industrial Journalism, “People follow people, and therefore just by ‘being human’ journalists create a more powerful role for themselves…” I was a perfect example of the trend in news consumers today. The Today Show had my viewership because I was connecting with a human journalist, and I was more interested in how Meredith Vieira humanized the stories she reported rather than the content of the stories themselves, which is the basis of the industry.

Since arriving at Michigan, I have less time for TV, but more time for the internet, which is why I get most of my news from BuzzFeed. The way I consume news now differs from my religious viewing of the Today Show growing up, but brings up another interesting trend touched upon in the reading, that being news content has become reusable (in new news stories or by other organizations). BuzzFeed is a perfect example of an outlet that takes stories that were already told and presents them with a twist. They might not be “breaking” the news, but they are taking stories that were already told and presenting them in a refreshing way. My dad watches Fox 2 News in the morning, and my mom checks Yahoo! News every afternoon, so while neither of them receive their news from the more quirky sites, such as BuzzFeed, they are both consuming news through the television and the internet, which is a way that is progressive beyond the traditional print format.

On the BuzzFeed note, this semester I’ll be exploring student-run startup businesses and products. BuzzFeed is a startup, and I also write for Spoon at the University of Michigan, which is a startup website founded by two students from Northwestern. The idea of startups both fascinates and excites me, and I truly believe we’ll see an explosion of them in the upcoming years. I’m excited to explore how Michigan students have contributed to this growing world.

giphy
Gif courtesy of giphy.com
Leave a Reply

